How much does 711 days of service earn an Able Seaman during WW2?

My uncle Earl A. Brown, whom we affectionately call Uncle Jimmy.

My uncle Earl A. Brown, whom we affectionately call Uncle Jimmy.

While reviewing my Gpa Mike’s and my great uncle Jimmy’s WW2 personnel records, the document I find most shocking is the “Department of National Defence Statement of War Service Gratuity” form.  Jimmy gave 711 days of service, 310 of those qualifying as overseas service.  Overseas service days were awarded an additional $0.25 per day plus a supplement.  In Jimmy’s case, this amounted to an additional $77.50 and $38.31 respectively, totalling an additional $115.81. All things told, and you can check out his service gratuity below, for his 711 of service, my Uncle Jimmy was paid out a total of $284.56. It also blows me away that these men and women were only paid after they were discharged and even then, their money was paid out in instalments.  I want to look further into this to learn the logic behind it. My educated guess is  perhaps during the war, the government perhaps wanted to keep the men and women from spending their money in frivolous ways.   As for the instalments, I can see that paying out all these men and women in lump sums upon discharge would likely have financial repercussions for the government.  But still, I would like to do some more research on this.

In addition to this pay, there is a second pair form in his war file that shows Uncle Jimmy received $100 in plain clothes allowance and two kit upkeep allowances that totalled $13.88. When it is all said and done, the total compensation is just under $400.  Wow.

EA-Brown_Gratuity

